SEO Logic® Trademark Infringement Cases

SEO Logic® Trademark Infringement Cases

Mir Internet Marketing, Inc. v. Aquo Interactive

Michael Taus of Aquo Interactive purchased the domain name SEOLOGICS.COM and launched a Web site at the domain to promote Aquo Interactive as search engine optimization experts. In addition, Aquo created hundreds of links pointing to the SEOLOGICS.COM Web site from several properties they own, including BigFunWeb.com, Magven.com, Aquo.com, and WeboArt.com. SEO Logic sent Michael Taus of Aquo Interactive a Cease and Desist letter on February 13, 2007, insisting that he take down the Web site immediately, stop infringing on our trademark rights, and turn over the SEOLOGICS.COM domain to Mir Internet Marketing, Inc. Mr. Taus's reaction was to edit the code on the site, turning the site into an RSS feed gathering site about search engine optimization and to put invisible text links at the bottom of every page of the site which pointed to the SEO services page on the Aquo site, a clear violation of Google's Quality Guidelines (Webmaster Help Center > Hidden Text and Links) and an obvious demonstration of his commitment to using our trademark for his own commercial gain and to hiding that from us. Michael Taus then claimed that he was no longer using the site for commercial gain, that the site was purely educational in nature, and that he therefore was not subject to our claim of infringement.

On April 23, 2007, we submitted a Complaint to the National Arbitration Forum. On June 5, 2007, the Arbitrator ruled that Aquo Interactive must turn the domain name over to Mir (DECISION: Mir Internet Marketing, Inc. v. Aquo Interactive). As you can see, the domain SEOLOGICS.COM now points to this site.

Mir Internet Marketing, Inc. v. Startlogic, Inc.

In Summer 2007, Startlogic used Mir's SEO Logic trademark on Startlogic's website. Mir later filed a lawsuit against Startlogic in United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois. The parties resolved their differences in a Settlement Agreement executed in June 2008, and Startlogic is no longer using Mir's trademark.

Mir Internet Marketing, Inc. v. Value IT Solutions

On January 14, 2008, the Arbitrator ruled that Value IT Solutions must turn over the domain SEOLOGIC.IN to Mir (DECISION: Mir Internet Marketing, Inc. v. Value IT Solutions [View as HTML]). As you can see, the domain SEOLOGIC.IN now points to this site.